State troopers made over a hundred stops enforcing Georgia’s new hands-free driving law Sunday, the first day the law was in effect.
Department of Public Safety spokeswoman Tracey Watson told WSB-TV the Georgia State Patrol issued 34 citations and 98 warnings across the state.
Under the “Hands-Free Georgia Act,” drivers are not allowed to operate a phone by hand or use any part of their body to support the device. Fines range from $50 to $150.
Бизнес партнерство и бизнес-идеи
One motorist was stopped for holding their phone while using GPS and another for texting.
State Trooper Cory Croscutt told the station he hoped the law reduces traffic fatalities at a time when crashes caused by distractions happen daily.
Copyright 2018 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Was this article valuable?
Thank you! Please tell us what we can do to improve this article.
Thank you! % of people found this article valuable. Please tell us what you liked about it.
Here are more articles you may enjoy.
How Real-Time Bridge Monitoring Sensors Work to Detect Structural Defects
Some Big Employers Moving Away from High Deductible Health Plans
Momentum for Rate Hikes Dissipates During June/July Renewals: Willis Re Report
Amazon to Buy Online Pharmacy Startup PillPack as Entry Into Health Care